Corporate Profile

The Board of Directors

Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd is governed by a locally established Board of Directors. This comprises six directors of whom two are locally-based non-executives, two are non-executive directors from the parent bank and two executive directors being the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Operating Officer. The Board of Directors benefits from a mix of relevant skills. All directors include the control and governance of the bank within their remit of responsibilities and each director also has specific responsibilities, based on their experience.

Financial Statements

Board of Directors

Mr Ronald C Perera

Mr. Ronald C Perera, President’s Counsel, has been appointed as Chairman, Bank of Ceylon by Hon. Ravi Karunanayake, Minister of Finance. He assumed office on Wednesday 28th January 2015.

Mr. Perera is a LLB graduate from the University of Colombo and also holds a LLM in International Trade Law from Northumbria University. Mr. Perera was appointed as a President’s Counsel in 2012. He was a Director of the Bank of Ceylon previously.

Mr. Perera is an experienced lawyer with a wide practice in the original courts as well as in the Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. He has wide experience in Civil and Criminal litigation, negotiation and drafting of commercial and transport contracts and agreements. Mr. Perera has specialized in Commercial Law, Banking Law, Industrial Law, Injunctions, Defamation, Election Petitions, Civil Appeals, Revision Applications, Writ Applications, and Fundamental Rights Cases. Additionally, he has appeared in several Commercial Arbitrations.

Mr. Gunasekera
Non-Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr. Gunasekera holds the position of General Manager of Bank of Ceylon, the parent bank of Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd since January 2013 and held Corporate and Executive management positions in key areas such as Corporate Banking, Retail Banking and Sales & channel Management.

Mr. Gunasekara counts over 29 years of experience in the banking sector and commenced his career as a retail banker in 1983 working at rural branches of Bank of Ceylon. He later served at Corporate & Offshore Banking Division specializing corporate financing and credit management. He also has served at BOC London Branch from 1997 – 2000 benefiting him in receiving comprehensive experience in international banking operations and exposure in good governance practices. He is a Ex- Officio Director of several subsidiaries of Bank of Ceylon including Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd and has been a resource person at Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka for several years.

He has successfully completed the programme on Corporate Management for Sri Lanka (LK2M2 AOTS) in Japan and Advanced Management Programme conducted by the Wharton University of Pennsylvania, USA. Mr. Gunasekara graduated from the University of Colombo, Sri Lanka with a special degree in Public Finance & Taxation in 1981. He is an Associate Member of the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka. He is also a council member of Association of Profesional Bankers of Sri Lanka.

Roy England
Independent Non-Executive Directors

Mr Roy England serves as an independent non-executive director, a role he holds with another City based financial institution which he has fulfilled since 1 January 2002. Prior to that, Mr England served as Advisor to the General Manager of the institution, which like Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd existed as a London Branch before the subsidiarisation. He is an associate of The Institute of Bankers.

David Swanney
Independent Non-Executive Directors

Mr David Swanney has been appointed as a second independent non-executive director. He is a chartered accountant and a retired banking regulator, with practical industry experience as Director, Group Compliance and Group MLRO for a major UK banking group. He is the author of the Joint Money Laundering Steering Group's anti-money laundering guidance for the UK financial sector. After moving from the accounting profession, David had a twenty year career at the Bank of England, and latterly the FSA, mostly in banking supervision. His responsibilities included an appointment as Head of Division directly supervising a range of UK banks; having responsibility for the Bank's Enforcement activity against illegal deposit taking; acting as secretary to the Board of Banking Supervision; and running the UK Deposit Protection Board at the time of the BCCI collapse.

In late 2000, David joined the Royal Bank of Scotland Group as Director, Group Compliance. Following a reorganisation of this function in late 2002 he took early retirement, since when he has worked with the British Bankers' Association on money laundering prevention issues. He is also a non-executive director, and audit committee chairman, of the UK subsidiaries of a number of overseas banks. Since January 2006 he has also been a public member of the International Audit and Assurance Standards Board.

A.R.F.John Pulle
Chief Executive Officer/Director

Mr John Pulle is the Chief Executive Officer of the Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd appointed in January 2016. He is an experienced banker with over 24 years of distinguished career with the parent Bank, Bank of Ceylon. Early part of his career was at domestic branches, gaining retail banking exposure and later specialised in Treasury and Risk management areas. He joined the treasury division as a dealer in 1995 and had gathered extensive knowledge and experience in treasury management while working at the Head office, as a trainee dealer at the then London branch and as Head of Treasury at the Chennai Branch in India. Later, he served at the Banks Risk Management Division before being promoted to the position of Assistant General Manager.

He is a holder of Bachelor of Philosophy Degree from the UPS University of Rome and made first steps into banking with the largest and premier bank in Sri Lanka, Bank of Ceylon. He is an Associate Member of the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka and a Member of the Association of Professional Bankers ( APB ) of Sri Lanka.

Supramaniam Sabesan
Chief Operating Officer/ Director

Mr Supramaniam Sabesan has been appointed as the Chief Operating Officer of Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd with effect from 16th March 2017. He counts over 13 years of experience and exposure in a wide spectrum of banking and financial services including treasury management, investment banking, back office operations, budget and strategic planning and financial accounting.

He holds an MBA in Finance from University of Colombo and Bachelor of Commerce - B.Com (Hons) degree from the same university. He is also an associate member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (ACMA) and the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka (AIB).

Management Team

A.R.F.John Pulle
Chief Executive Officer/Director

Supramaniam Sabesan
Chief Operating Officer/ Director

Risk & Compliance

Colin Finlayson
Head of Risk / Company Secretary

Kush Premachandra
Head of Compliance/MLRO

Trade Finance, Personal & Business Banking

Gihan Amunugama
Manager Credit & Retail Banking

Chandrika Rajakulatunge
Officer - Clearing & Payments

Udeni Perera
Officer - Customer Services

Finance & Treasury

Imtiaz Musheen
Head of Finance & Treasury

Kapila Samarakoon
Officer - Finance

Aruna Kumara
Chief Dealer

Hasitha Amarasekara

Information Technology

Devika Wijeratne
IT Manager

Back to Top

Bank of Ceylon (UK) LTD is Authorised By The Prudential Regulation Authority And Regulated By The Financial Conduct Authority And The Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA Reference no. 514744) Registered In England and Wales (Company Registration No. 06736473). Registered address and Head Office: 1 Devonshire Square, London EC2M 4WD